RA1 Team members

Mechanistic understanding is a prerequisite for identifying predictable relations in observations and models.

RA1 aims to identify and model the interactions within and among climate system components that give rise to predictability. We will also consider external factors (greenhouse gases, volcanic eruptions, aerosols, solar forcing) that can add predictive skill. RA1’s basic approach is to identify the relevant physical mechanisms in observations and reanalysis (RA2), test them in model experiments, and improve their representation in NorCPM.

Noel Keenlyside BCPU leader (2018-present)

Noel Keenlyside

Role: BCPU leader (2018-present)

E-mail: noel.keenlyside@uib.no

Read more

Tor Eldevik BCPU Deputy Leader (2018-present)

Tor Eldevik

Role: BCPU Deputy Leader (2018-present)

E-mail: tor.eldevik@uib.no

Read more

Nour-Eddine Omrani RA1 co-leader (2018-present)

Nour-Eddine Omrani

Role: RA1 co-leader (2018-present)

E-mail: Noureddine.Omrani@uib.no

Read more

Marius Årthun RA1 co-leader (2018-present)

Marius Årthun

Role: RA1 co-leader (2018-present)

E-mail: Marius.Arthun@uib.no

Read more

Helene Asbjørnsen PhD in RA1 (2018-2021)

Helene Asbjørnsen

Role: PhD in RA1 (2018-2021)

E-mail: H.Asbjornsen@uib.no

Read more

Tarkan Bilge Data manager and software engineer (2021-present)

Tarkan Bilge

Role: Data manager and software engineer (2021-present)

E-mail: tarkan.bilge@uib.no

Read more

Lina Boljka Researcher in RA1 (2020-present)

Lina Boljka

Role: Researcher in RA1 (2020-present)

E-mail: lina.boljka@uib.no

Read more

Helge Drange Researcher in RA1 (2018-present)

Helge Drange

Role: Researcher in RA1 (2018-present)

E-mail: helge.drange@uib.no

Read more

Jakob Dörr PhD affiliated to RA1 (2020-present)

Jakob Dörr

Role: PhD affiliated to RA1 (2020-present)

E-mail: Jakob.Dorr@uib.no

Read more

Evangelia Efstathiou PhD student affiliated to RA1 (2019-present)

Evangelia Efstathiou

Role: PhD student affiliated to RA1 (2019-present)

E-mail: Evangelia.Efstathiou@uib.no

Read more

Luca Famooss Paolini PhD student affiliated to RA1 (2021-present)

Luca Famooss Paolini

Role: PhD student affiliated to RA1 (2021-present)

E-mail: luca.famoosspaolini@unive.it

Read more

Martin King Researcher in RA3 (2019-present)

Martin King

Role: Researcher in RA3 (2019-present)

E-mail: mkin@norceresearch.no

Read more

Carina Knudsen Masters' assignment in RA1&RA3 (2021)

Carina Knudsen

Role: Masters' assignment in RA1&RA3 (2021)

E-mail: mahaut.vareilles@uib.no

Read more

Shunya Koseki Researcher affiliated to RA1 and RA3

Shunya Koseki

Role: Researcher affiliated to RA1 and RA3

E-mail: shunya.koseki@uib.no

Read more

Fei Li Postdoc affiliated to RA1 (2019-present)

Fei Li

Role: Postdoc affiliated to RA1 (2019-present)

E-mail: Fei.Li@uib.no

Read more

Andreas Hadsel Opsvik Communications (2019-present)

Andreas Hadsel Opsvik

Role: Communications (2019-present)

E-mail: andreas.opsvik@uib.no

Read more

Leilane Goncalves dos Passos PhD student in RA1 and RA3 (2019-present)

Leilane Goncalves dos Passos

Role: PhD student in RA1 and RA3 (2019-present)

E-mail: Leilane.Passos@uib.no

Read more

Rocio Castano Primo Data Manager (2018-present)

Rocio Castano Primo

Role: Data Manager (2018-present)

E-mail: rocio.primo@uib.no

Read more

Ole Rieke Masters student affilitated to RA1 (2021-2022)

Ole Rieke

Role: Masters student affilitated to RA1 (2021-2022)

E-mail: mahaut.vareilles@uib.no

Read more

Francine Schevenhoven Postdoc affiliated to RA1 (2019-present)

Francine Schevenhoven

Role: Postdoc affiliated to RA1 (2019-present)

E-mail: Francine.Schevenhoven@uib.no

Read more

Johanne Skrefsrud PhD student affiliated to RA1 (2021-present)

Johanne Skrefsrud

Role: PhD student affiliated to RA1 (2021-present)

E-mail: Johanne.Skrefsrud@uib.no

Read more

Lea Svendsen Researcher in RA1 and RA3 (2018-present)

Lea Svendsen

Role: Researcher in RA1 and RA3 (2018-present)

E-mail: lea.svendsen@uib.no

Read more

Mahaut de Vareilles Project manager (2018-present)

Mahaut de Vareilles

Role: Project manager (2018-present)

E-mail: Mahaut.Vareilles@uib.no

Read more